LibGuides: COMM 105 Professor Queeney Winter Session: Home

APA Formatting Help

CRAAPP Tests in Word--for downloading

CRAAPP for Websites
Use this test to evaluate websites
CRAAPP II Tests for Articles in Word--Download
Use this test to evaluate articles from databases.

Borrowing a camera from the Media Lab and Video Help

You can borrow a video camera from the Media Lab, should you need one for your project.

The Media Lab Research Guide has an abundant amount of information to help you with video projects. Many questions can be answered by checking this guide. The Media Lab is also staffed daily.

Reserving a Library Practice/Study Room for your group

Reserve a space in the Library, Newtown Campus to work on your group project. You can use this link for Library Room Reservation .

NOTE: You must use your @live.bucks.edu student email when booking your room.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is serious. More information can be found on the Academic Integrity Page from Bucks County Community College.

Suggested Database

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the database suggested by your professor. If you are not on campus and are logging in to the database. You will need to use your Bucks UserID and password. Once in the database, look under "search options" and confirm that "full-text" is selected. Also, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals." When entering search terms in the boxes, place the terms for each idea or concept in a box of its own. The pre-selected search operator AND will join your terms together.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects and many types of resources, with both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start.

Logging on to Library Databases from Home

Look here for instructions.

Scholarly Articles

When searching most databases, you are given the option to limit your search to scholarly, peer reviewed, or academic journal articles. Look at the Search Options section or in the Limiters menu for this feature.

Scholarly articles are designed for academic use, to expand and build on knowledge in a specific subject domain. They usually present the findings of studies, experiments, or research. There are ways to determine if an article is scholarly.

A scholarly article is usually written by experts in a field of study and/or people affiliated with academic institutions (professors). The article is intended for other professors, researchers, or students to read and use. The audience is academic in nature. You will notice substantial evidence of research in the article. Look for an extensive works cited or references section. Look for in-text citations and/or notes. The article’s publisher is a professional organization like the AMA (American Medical Association) or an academic institution like Yale University Press. The language of the article contains terminology specific to the field of study and not commonly known to those outside the subject area. The graphics are usually plain and informational (charts and graphs). Ideally, you would want to identify as many of these characteristics as possible to help determine if an article is credible and scholarly. Scholarly would be the higher standard.

Use the CRAAPP test for articles section of this guide to further assist in determining if an article is scholarly.