Fire Science and Emergency Management Resources: Journal Articles, Books, eBooks and Videos

A quarterly publication that offers information, helpful hints and ideas on how to prepare for and protect against disaster, criminals, civil liberty issues and other public safety and national security concerns. “Awareness” is for the people and by the people. Citizens from all walks of life submit their articles for inclusion.

This free resource focuses on clinical care, systems operation, funding, research and other aspects of the pre-hospital emergency care profession.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the database by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click Lexis Nexis. In this database, enter "Fire Chief" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the databases by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click EBSCOhost, then select Academic Search Elite and Military and Government Collection, and MasterFile. In this database, enter "Fire Engineering" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the database by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click Lexis Nexis. In this database, enter "Firehouse" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the databases by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click EBSCOhost, then select MasterFile. In this database, enter "Fire Management Notes" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the databases by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click EBSCOhost, then select MasterFile. In this database, enter "Fire Management Today" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

Available online for any Bucks or non-Bucks student, staff, or faculty member. Contains mostly reviews on fire safety and prevention products.

Link to website about the publication. Publication available in print at the Newton Campus Library.

Search for a specific issue by clicking this link, or to search the databases by term or keyword. To do this, go to the library website, click databases, and click ScienceDirect. In this database, enter "Fire Safety" in the journal title box, and add your other search terms to complete the search.

This peer-reviewed, free Journal of the NPS Center for Homeland Defense and Security provides a forum to propose and debate strategies, policies, and organizational arrangements to strengthen U.S. homeland security.

International Journal of Disaster Risk Science (IJDRS) is a fully sponsored, peer-reviewed open access journal published under the brand SpringerOpen. It addresses theoretical and methodological issues in all areas of disaster risk science, policy, and practice. Coverage includes case studies and research comparing responses to major disasters worldwide.

The International Journal of Mass Emergencies and Disasters (IJMED) is published by the International Research Committee on Disasters, which is RC 39 of the International Sociological Association (ISA). As the official journal of the IRCD, IJMED focuses on the social and behavioral aspects of relatively sudden collective stress situations typically referred to as disasters or mass emergencies.

This IPSA publication includes manuscripts about leadership issues and best practices relevant to public safety that are public safety relevant, thoroughly researched and peer-reviewed.

Jàmbá is a trans-disciplinary publication in the field of Disaster Risk Reduction, aimed at serving as a platform for discussion and debate in this relatively new study field. Jàmbá: Journal of Disaster Risk Studies aims to engage, inform, and catalyse scholarly discourse within research and real-world practices that work towards the minimization of vulnerabilities and disaster risks throughout developing communities with special emphasis on Africa.

The Journal of Disaster Research provides timely, topical information on disasters related to information, lifeline infrastructures, traffic, terror, and similar events not directly due to war.

The Journal's target audience is those who fight disaster in their capacity as researchers, engineers, disaster prevention managers, administrators, diplomats, and disaster-related NGO and NPO personnel. This Journal provides valuable knowledge on disaster prevention and mitigation from a comprehensive, informative viewpoint, with the emphasis on "wide and comprehensive scope".

The objective of the Journal of Extreme Events is to provide a forum for analysis of the occurrence, impact, and significance of extreme events on natural and human systems. The Journal will provide a range of opportunities for manuscripts including original research papers, review assessments, and science-policy statements. Readership for the journal will come from a range of academic disciplines as well as research-oriented practitioner and stakeholder professions.

Peer-reviewed, open access journal published by Japan Society for Natural Disaster Science,

Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences (NHESS) is an interdisciplinary and international journal dedicated to the public discussion and open-access publication of high-quality studies and original research on natural hazards and their consequences.

Available only in print at the Bucks Newtown Library.

Link to the website about the publication. Publication available in print at the Newtown Campus Library.

Available online for any Bucks or non-Bucks student, faculty, or staff. Includes fire prevention and hazard news and articles. Executive Fire Officer Program resources and EMS ebooks are also part of the collection.