Skip to main content

BTJ Art: VAFA Research

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

  Look it Up: Oxford Art Online

Citing Art and Art Reproductions in MLA Format

Help with citations for articles and other text may be found in the box above. This link will take you to the handy OWL at Purdue site, specifically to information on how to cite works of art, reproductions in print media, and reproductions in online media:

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/09/

The following link will bring you to a citation guide created by the Artstor database:

http://support.artstor.org/?article=citing-sources

 

How to Find Images

How to Find Images:

 

Your Number 1 electronic source is ARTstor, found in the library’s Online Resouces:

·         Look up a topic or person's name (Michael Lucero).

·           If there are pages of results, try being more specific (Michael Lucero AND Dreamer).

·         Click on the title or creator’s name for more information.

·         Click on the photo to enlarge.

Click on the Electronic Reference Sources tab above for more help with ARTstor.

 

Oxford Art Online is also good:

·         On the front screen, select the Oxford Art Reference tools you wish to search, or search all.

·         Try typing Lucie Rie in the box. Click in the box next to the word 'Images' to limit your search to images.

 

Look at the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Website to search the collections and use the timelines. 

 

Don’t forget BOOKS! The library has a nice collection:

  • Use the Quick Catalog Search widget to the left.
  • Type a subject in the box (Duckworth, Ruth).
  • Jot down the book’s call number—we use the Dewey Decimal System which classifies books by subject. You may find other resources on your topic in the same area.

Refine your searches with Boolean Limiters: 

AND – joins two concepts: hits must contain both words: Munich AND Art.

OR – hits can contain either word, and your hitlist will be much larger: Painting OR Sculpture. This kind of search is helpful if you are aware of synonyms: Photograph or Image.

NOT – hits will have the first but not the second term: Munich NOT Pretzel.

 

How to Find Text (Journals and more)

How to Find Textual Information:

JSTOR is our favorite for Art History topics:

  • Type in your topic: Armory Show.
  • Look at your result list: the full-text of the article can be seen by clicking on PDF Full-Text. This is important for Art History because the PDF shows the article as it originally appeared in print, and the images will be preserved. (This is why we like JSTOR best for art.)

Let’s look at EBSCOhost, more specifically Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), our second-favorite source for Art History:

  • Check the boxes next to databases that would apply to your topic. EBSCO will search them all simultaneously and return your hits. (You’ll probably find that Academic Search Elite and Masterfile Premier are the best choices.)
  • Click ‘Continue.’
  • Type in a topic (Pont AND Neuf AND Wrapped).
  • Narrow this to full-text only, or search only peer-reviewed journals.
  • Add the citation(s) to the folder so that you can print, email or save them.
  • Since many of the articles available through this database are available without their accompanying images, this is a good place to look for information, but not so good for images.
  • EBSCOhost is a good index for periodicals; in other words, it will tell you in what issue of what magazine or journal to find an article if it is not there in full-text. You can then track down the print issue to see the article with images. 

Credo Reference

  • Here are many of the reference books that we have been using for years, now in digital form.

Your Librarian

Brian Johnstone's picture
Brian Johnstone
Contact:
Bucks County Community College
275 Swamp Road
Newtown, PA 18940
L-122
215-504-8554
Website

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.