Skip to main content

COMP110: Professor Bruck/OER: Home

This guide was created to help Professor Bruck's OER students with their research.

Library Catalog Search Widget

Search the Library Catalog

 

Welcome to your COMP110 Guide!

Welcome

Welcome to this thing called a LibGuide. I've tried to gather here links and tutorials that will help you when researching your COMP110 assignments. You are welcome to stop by the library, call us, email us, or instant-message the librarians for additional help, but I am guessing you will find much of the information you need right here...

To the left, you will find general library stuff like how to navigate the library's website, how to search the catalog to find books, and how to cite your sources to avoid accidental plagiarism.

In this middle column, you will find information and links for using EBSCOhost, the library's biggest database and probably the source of most of your research for this class. You will also see a box that can help you if you have trouble getting into the databases from home.


Way below in this center column you will see a Library Lingo Decoder. If you don't understand a term we librarians throw around, check this list. Sometimes we forget that non-librarians don't use the same words for things!

On the right, you will see my contact information. If you want to ask me a question, I suggest you email since I sometimes work at other locations. (Really, I don't mind.) Underneath my profile box, you will see a widget called "Get Help." With this tool you can get library help anytime the library is open.


Good luck with your course!

All the best,

Margaret

Link Directly to EBSCOhost Here

EBSCOhost is a collection of electronic databases, and Academic Search Elite is one of the databases in EBSCOhost. Use Academic Search Elite to find an article for this assignment. You can link directly to EBSCOhost below. Then link to Academic Search Elite at the top of the list of EBSCOhost databases. If you're not on campus you'll need to log on. See the box below this one for login help.

How to Use EBSCOhost to Find Stuff

Watch this video by Librarian Jackie Burger to learn how to use EBSCOhost, the Queen of Databases.

Annotated Bibliography Instructions

If You Need Help with Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Your Librarian

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.