Skip to main content

Comp 110 -- prof. Biletz: Home

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Searching for books

Tips for Finding Quality Websites

Finding reliable, unbiased information on the free Web can be tough and VERY time consuming! Here's a checklist for evaluating pages you find when you search Google or any other web search engine.

But save yourself some time. There are faster ways to get to quality information.

  • Limit yourself to US Government or College and University websites using Google Advanced Search
  •  or use the basic search box and limit this way: site:.gov your topic or site:.edu your topic.ex: site:.gov bullying

CRAAPP Tests in Word--for downloading

Logging into Databases Remotely

Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles and information on your topc.

EBSCOhost

Full-text journal articles and indexes. Search the default database, Academic Search Premiere and choose other subject specific databases. Subject Databases include: ERIC and Education Full-text for education, Communication and Mass Media for social media topics, Business Source Elite for business topics plus many more.


Opposing Viewpoints

Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view.

Boolean operators

Just a quick reminder about Boolean Operators?

Contact

Marzenna Ostrowski's picture
Marzenna Ostrowski
Contact:
Collection Management Librarian
215-504-8619

Library Building--ground floor--room #122

Liaison to Health Sciences Department

Characteristics of peer reviewed/scholarly journals

 

  1. Articles report research done in the specific discipline
  2. Author is an expert or specialist in the discipline. Crudentials are always provided.
  3. Articles are directed to scholars in the same discipline
  4. Reviewed by scholars specializing in this discipline
  5. Articles have extensive bibliographies
  6. Articles have to follow specific publication structure (abstract, keywords, research background and literature review, methodology, research results,  conclusion, references)