Skip to main content

Margaret's MGMT135 Guide: Searching for Business Information

This guide is intended to support student research in Colleen Dunn's Business Communications course.

Databases for Business Information

*If you are accessing these databases from your own device or from off campus, you will need to login to the databases with your Bucks UserID and Password.

Websites

Company Profiles at Yahoo Enter a company name in the search box and select Search Finance. Use the tabs on the left side of the page to find different types of information about a company. (From Yahoo: All information provided "as is" for informational purposes only, not intended for trading purposes or advice. Neither Yahoo! nor any of independent providers is liable for any informational errors, incompleteness, or delays, or for any actions taken in reliance on information contained herein. Fundamental company data provided by Capital IQ. Historical chart data and daily updates provided by Commodity Systems, Inc. (CSI). International historical chart data, daily updates, fund summary, fund performance, dividend data and Morningstar Index data provided by Morningstar, Inc.)

ThomasNet   From Thomas Register and Thomas Regional, provides information about and for industrial buyers and sellers. Look here for basic manufacturing company information and links to company websites. 

CRAAPP Test for Websites

Look for Books in the Library Catalog

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   
   
   
   Advanced Search

Accessing Databases

You can access the library databases from off campus with your Bucks UserID and Password. If you experience difficulties, this webpage about Accessing Databases can help you. You can also contact the HelpDesk at 215-968-8191.

Company Profile

Putting together a company profile might require gathering information from multiple sources. Different sources will provide different perspectives, which will give you a better overall balance and sense of the company.

A good starting point would be the company's website. Investigate it thoroughly and make sure to look at the "About" page. Keep in mind that a company website is also an advertisement for the company. It will provide information, but it is also doing public relations work. Expect all or mostly positive company information from the company website.

Company profiles can be found in Business Source Premier. Other online databases also contain information about companies. If  you are using websites, exercise caution and check for credibility. See the CRAAPP Test for Websites for ideas of types of questions you should be asking when evaluating online information sources.