Skip to main content

PSYC181:BTJ: Home

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

Ask A Librarian

chat loading...

APA Citations

Here are some resources to help you tackle those citations in APA style.  Remember also that the databases will provide all needed information for a citation and some, particularly EBSCOhost, will format the citation in the style of your choosing.

Print resources available in the Bucks library: This will provide you with details.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. (REF 808.02 A512 2001)

From Bucks Tutoring Center: 
APA Style Handout  (PDF)

From other Internet resources:
Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association 
http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx

The Purdue OWL: APA Style
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/ 

Welcome

Welcome

The library makes a lot of resources available through our website. This includes access to scholarly journals, films, and some books.

1. Start Broadly

Learn all you can about your topic first. 

These Library databases have general information about causes, symptoms and treatments of disorders and diseases from important reference books:

PsychiatryOnline (DSM-V)
The American Psychiatric Association's reference book on mental disorders.
Credo Reference
Information from nearly 300 reference sources covering all major subjects. Lots of images too!

2. Move to Specifics

You can look for books in the library catalog to find titles (or chapters within books) that deal with your topic.

Start linking keywords together in database searches. Look for general articles and move to scholarly peer-reviewed works.

These Library databases have articles from scientific and other journals that focus on more specific aspects of disorders and diseases, as well as opinion pieces about public health issues :

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases. These are most useful for topics in health and psychology: Academic Search Elite, CINAHL, and HealthSource.

PsycARTICLES
Articles from psychology journals.

Opposing Viewpoints
This database presents topics from varying points of view.

 

3. Follow Up

Chase Footnotes, find more sources. Try a variety of databases. Track down clues wherever they lead (don't just settle for the first couple hits). And always know you can ask a librarian for help.

Systems Librarian

Brian Johnstone's picture
Brian Johnstone
Contact:
Bucks County Community College
275 Swamp Road
Newtown, PA 18940
L-122
215-504-8554
Website