Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museum Websites in Our Region
Museum websites often have information about individual works of art in their collections.
Search the BCCC Library Catalog
Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.
Logging on to Library Databases from Home
Databases for Books, Educational Films and Articles
Use these databases to find images, eBooks, and peer reviewed articles on art subjects.
Images and related basic information
Information from specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. To search only art books, select "Art" from the subject menu next to the search box.
Oxford Art Online
"Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources."
The entry point for all of the EBSCOhost databases.
Electronic books on many subjects. Can be accessed from home also.
This database is very good for ART History topics. Gives you peer reviewed and full text articles. Full-text can be seen by clicking on PDF Full-Text in the results' list. PDF shows the article as it originally appeared in print, and the images will be available.
Tips for Finding Quality Websites
* Search the website of the museum you visited; possibly there's additional information about the work of art that you chose.
* Limit yourself to College and University websites using Google Advanced Search (limit your search to .edu sites).
Example of good quality website:
Art History Resources on the web
CRAAPP Tests in Word--for downloading
Characteristics of peer reviewed/scholarly journals
- Articles report research done in the specific discipline
- Author is an expert or specialist in the discipline. Credentials are always provided.
- Articles are directed to scholars in the same discipline
- Reviewed by scholars specializing in this discipline
- Articles have extensive bibliographies
- Articles have to follow specific publication structure (abstract, keywords, research background and literature review, methodology, research results, conclusion, references)
Search the Bucks County Public Libraries Catalog
Plagiarism is a practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
The Oxford Dictionary of English (revised edition). Ed. Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson. Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Bucks County Community College. 10 February 2010
Why talking about plagiarism is so important? You will find more information on the BCCC Tutoring Center website: