LibGuides: BIOL181-Prof. Barr: Home

Search the BCCC Catalog

BCCC Library Catalog
Search the BCCC Library collection for both print and electronic resources.

Logging on to Library Databases from Home

If you have problem accessing the library databases please go to the link below for additional information. You can contact The HelpDesk for additional help at 215-968-8191.

Accessing databases from home

Tips for Finding Quality Websites

Evaluating websites using CSU's CRAAP Test
Limit your web search using Google Advanced Search (limit to domain .gov or edu)

Online Databases for articles

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Gives you full text articles from magazine, Journals and ebooks. For this assignment please select Academic Search Premier, CINAHL,eBook Collection, MasterFILE Premier, Health Source: Consumer Edition,Nursing/Academic Edition and MEDLINE.

Science Direct
Searchable full-text collection of science journals

Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for nursing and allied health journals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of streaming educational videos on many subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.

Useful resources

MedlinePlus
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine
From the National Institutes of HealthNational Institutes of Health
American Cancer Society (ACS)
The ACS website provides information about all types of cancer.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC website provides a wealth of information about public health issues, including the latest developments in genetics.
Mayo Clinic Diseases and Conditions
Gives information regarding First Aid, Diseases & Conditions, Symptoms, Drugs and Supplements, Tests and Procedures.
Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
This page has information about Diseases.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The CAM website contains information about a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that presently are not consider to be a part of conventional medicine.

Finding information on Hospitals

EBSCOhost Tutorial

Please watch this up-to-date video tutorial to learn more about EBSCOhost and score some great tips on using it effectively.

Reference Librarian

Poonam Sood

Email Me

Contact:

215-504-8574

Get Help

Get Additional Help

Ask a Librarian
For additional help please click on this link

BIOL181-Prof. Barr: Home

Welcome