Skip to main content

COMP114 - prof. S.Bruck - Technical Writing: Home

Welcome!

Hi!

Welcome to this research guide. My name is Marzena. I am a librarian at Bucks and I'm here to help you find good, credible sources to support your work in COMP114.

Use this guide as a starting point. I have links to the catalog, the databases you'll use most for this class, and information on doing APA citations. I try to explain search strategy in the "Search Secrets" tab, but am happy to work with you to take the idea further. Contact me if you have any questions that I can help with. Really.

Cheers!

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

Some Helpful Books

Business Plans Handbook (11 Volumes) - Available via the Library ONLINE
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

Help with APA

Check these guides for help with APA style, required for your Researched Business Proposal assignment.

Suggested Databases

How to Use EBSCOhost

Here is a tutorial that will show you how to search for scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspaper information in the database called EBSCOhost. Please note that EBSCO is actually a collection of databases and you can customize your search strategy according to your topic. There are some general databases (Academic Search Elite and MasterFile Premiere) and some Business databases (Business Source Elite and Regional Business News) that may be especially helpful for your topics in this course. You can search multiple databases in EBSCO simultaneously. Watch the video:

Nexis Uni for General News

Nexis Uni - a huge database where you can find current information form newspapers and other periodicals. There are different ways to search Nexis Uni. The tutorials embedded here will get you started.

 

Nexis Uni for Business searching

Nexis Uni also provides company dossiers and a lot of other helpful information concerning companies. Public companies are easier to locate than private companies.

The look of the database has changed. Follow the link on the top of the page to Company Dossier.

Nexis Uni Menu

Your Librarian

Marzenna Ostrowski's picture
Marzenna Ostrowski
Contact:
Collection Management Librarian
215-504-8619

Library Building--ground floor--room #122

Liaison to Health Sciences Department