LibGuides: Nursing: Databases

Interlibrary Loan Form for books and journal articles.

9 free apps every nurse should download
Epocrates RX
"Medical PDA software with drug interactions, dosing, retail pricing, adverse reaction, Medicare Part D, pharmacology, and safety monitoring."
iMedical Apps
"iMedicalApps is the leading online publication for medical professionals, patients, and analysts interested in mobile medical technology and health care apps."
The New MDCalc
Nursing calculators
"The following is a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math"

Just a quick reminder about Boolean Operators?

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Films on Demand : Health and Medicine video collection
A collection of digital educational videos on many subjects (for streaming) such as: diseases, disabilities, health care & treatment, nutrition, human anatomy and physiology etc.
INTELECOM online resources network
This is a collection of streaming educational videos which includes: health, medicine, biological sciences etc.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles from biomedical journals, mostly scholarly.

MedlinePlus
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine from the National Institutes of Health

Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed psychology articles from the American Psychological Association.
PsychiatryOnline (DSM-V-TR) This link opens in a new window
DSM-V online, and other psychology resources.

Nursing@Ovid
Full-text database for nursing and allied health journals.
PubMed Central
Provides access to free full-text medical journal articles.
ScienceDirect College edition
Provides access to the full-text collection of science journals.

Articles report research done in the specific discipline
Author is an expert or specialist in the discipline. Crudentials are always provided.
Articles are directed to scholars in the same discipline
Reviewed by scholars specializing in this discipline
Articles have extensive bibliographies
Articles have to follow specific publication structure (abstract, keywords, research background and literature review, methodology, research results, conclusion, references)

All databases, and e-books are accessible off campus through the Proxy server. The link below will provide you information on how to do it.

Print Periodicals (shelved in the library by title) They also can be found full-text in Nursing@Ovid.