EBSCOhost is a collection of electronic databases that will be useful for you as you search for articles. Communication and Mass Media Complete and Academic Search Elite will be the most helpful for your research paper assignment, so make sure you select both of these in the beginning of your EBSCO search. If you're not on campus you'll need to log on. See the box below this one for login help. Watch the videos to the right for help using EBSCO and a couple other databases.
Most students find that the hardest part of the research process is identifying effective search terms for their topic. Please don't get frustrated by this step. Look at the videos on this research guide, and if you still have problems, visit me on campus or shoot me an email. Please don't resort to using Google or Wikipedia: You will lose valuable points on your assignment because those are not appropriate collections of knowledge for this kind of research.
It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information at this link, and if you still have problems, call our Technology Learning Center (TLC) at 215-497-8754.
Please watch this up-to-date video tutorial to learn more about EBSCOhost and score some great tips on using it effectively.
Underneath, find another video on advanced search techniques which also happens to use EBSCOhost.
This video will show you how to select search terms effectively. It uses the EBSCOhost database, but these tips will be useful for the other databases, too.
Librarian Debbie Carney made this tutorial to help you find additional information for your projects. More sources are added to this database all the time!
The Opposing Viewpoints database will help you find current articles on hot topics as well as quality websites, statistics, and other resources.
