Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing your Sources - -MLA
Search the BCCC Library Catalog
Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.
Step By Step
How to use the online catalog:
- Type a subject in the box.
- Jot down the call number—we use the Dewey Decimal System which classifies books by subject.
- Power Searches give you the option of using Boolean terms to be more specific:
- Faulkner AND Criticism
- De Maupassant OR Maupassant
- Kafka NOT Metamorphosis
These library databases are useful for finding journal articles on literary subjects:
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases. Academic Search Elite and MLA International Bibliography are the most useful for literary topics. Select them from the list of EBSCOhost databases. There's an EBSCOhost tutorial you can link to from the box below.
It's smaller than EBSCOhost, but great for literary criticism. (And all the articles are there in full-text!)
This database only covers literary topics. On the main page, choose "criticism" from the links on the left to search for literary criticism.
Literature Criticism Online
These are electronic versions of the classic literary criticism print resources. Find information here on authors and works by genre and century.
This database holds information including biographical and critical insights of many authors.
Accessing the Databases from Off-campus Locations