Skip to main content

COMP 111 Prof. Jennie Smith: Home

This is a library reference guide for Professor Smith's COMP 111 final research paper.

COMP 111 Prof. Jennie Smith

Reference Desk

LBC Hours: Mon-Thur 8:00am-9:00pm; Fri 8:00am-3:30 pm; Sat 10:00am-2:00pm      

Contact: Ph 267-685-4825 Txt: 215-970-7123 Email: debra.carney@bucks.edu                        

FINDING REPUTABLE WEBSITES

LIMIT GOOGLE Search by Domain Name

  1. Restrict search to those sites created by government and colleges / universities.
  2. Search Example -> Gender roles site:.edu

Evaluate Websites 

  1. Is the author listed and can you contact him / her with questions?
  2. What are the credentials of the website author?
  3. Does the website contain timely information? What is the date of last update?
  4. What is the purpose of the website? Is there a product being sold?

 

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

DATABASES

Credo Reference  is comprised of full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries. It is a good source for background information and author biographies. 

EBSCOhost is a collection of twenty-six databases covering multiple disciplines.  Academic Search Elite and MLA International Bibliography are the best databases for literary criticism. Other databases can be used to find information on cultural, Marxist, psychological or gender related topics.

JSTOR contains scholarly articles focused on humanities and the social sciences.  It is a good source for literary criticism articles.

Literature Criticism Online is comprised of literary criticism articles from Gale's reference books. It has an entire series devoted to short-story criticism.  It is also a good source for author biographies.

Literature Online is a source for literary criticism articles and author biographies.

 

TYPES OF INFORMATION

Information Type

Written By

Must be Reviewed by

Where Available

Academic / Scholarly Articles

Experts in the Field

Other experts / Peer reviewed

 

Academic journals available in library databases

Magazine/ Newspaper articles

Journalists

Editors of Magazine / Newspaper

Library databases

Websites

Anybody

Nobody

Online through a Google search