Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Formatting Help
Your Handbook for Academic Writing is a great resource for MLA-style citation formatting, so go there first. These links will take you to additional help:
Search the Bucks Library Catalog
Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.
Find Online Electronic Books
Electronic books from the Harold Bloom editions of literary criticism.
Online reference books of literary criticism for selected authors.
These library databases are useful for finding journal articles on literary subjects:
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases. Academic Search Elite is good for all subjects and MLA International Bibliography has only literary criticism. Select them from the list of EBSCOhost databases.
Literature Online Reference Edition
This database only covers literary topics. On the main page, choose "criticism" from the links on the left to search for literary criticism.
Very good for history and literary criticism...and all of the articles are full-text and peer-reviewed!
Literature Criticism Online
The online version of all those volumes of literary criticism in the reference section of the Library. Lots of articles from academic journals as well as reviews.
Logging on to Library Databases from Home
Tips for Finding Reliable Websites
* Limit your web search to US college and university websites (.edu), US government websites (.gov), or US military websites (.mil) using Google Advanced Search.
* Use the CRAAPP Test to determine the reliability of websites you find.
Characteristics of peer reviewed/scholarly journals
- Articles report research done in the specific discipline
- Author is an expert or specialist in the discipline. Crudentials are always provided.
- Articles are directed to scholars in the same discipline
- Reviewed by scholars specializing in this discipline
- Articles have extensive bibliographies
- Articles have to follow specific publication structure (abstract, keywords, research background and literature review, methodology, research results, conclusion, references)