COMM110: Professor Montet: Persuasive Speech #2

Click on the "Database Tutorials" tab at the top of the page to see video tutorials for EBSCOhost, Opposing Viewpoints, and LexisNexis Academic.

Watch this video to get some ideas on how to polish-up your video before you present it for a grade. You might want to maximize it to see detail.

(And the video has captions if you prefer.)

These Library databases are recommended for most topics related to Persuasion.  Find high-quality, reliable information from journal articles, newspapers, and websites.

TIPS:

• Look inside EBSCOhost for a wealth of databases covering many disciplines with various types of resources (newspapers, magazine articles, scholarly journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias). Look to the right of the screen when you are reading an article to find the little yellow button that leads you to Works Cited citations in many styles including APA and MLA.
• Communication and Mass Media Complete (inside EBSCOhost) is an extraordinary database for Communication articles including some on Persuasion topics.
• Credo Reference is a great database consisting of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. While these don't count towards your required sources, you can use this source to define unfamiliar terms (and remove confusion about your topic), find effective search terms you might not have thought of, and discover related topics and subtopics. While these dictionary and encyclopedia entries might not count towards your required sources, you should still list them in your Works Cited list, and Credo will show you how to format your citation.
• Newspapers: these are great sources for many projects. Notice Bucks has a Newspaper database inside EBSCOhost and a separate database for the Wall Street Journal. The New York Times can be found in Nexis Uni, formerly Lexis Nexis Academic.

It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information at this link, and if you still have problems, call our Technology Learning Center (TLC) at 215-497-8754.