Skip to main content

Comp 111 --- Prof. Muzyk: Home

MLA Formatting Help

Your Handbook for Academic Writing is a great resource for MLA-style citation formatting, so go there first.  These links will take you to additional help:

NEW Catalog Search Box

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   
   
   
   Advanced Search

Search the Bucks County Public Libraries Catalog

Is a Bucks County Public Library more convenient for you?  The Public Libraries' online catalog searches in the same way that the College Library's does.  Click here to search the Public Libraries' Catalog.

    Electronic reference collections

Both  resources have information from nearly 300 reference sources (dictionaries and ecyclopedias, handbooks) covering all major subjects.

Databases

These library databases will be useful for finding journal articles on aspects of your topic:

  Logging on to Library Databases from Home

Boolean operators

Just a quick reminder about Boolean Operators?

Characteristics of peer reviewed/scholarly journals

 

  1. Articles report research done in the specific discipline
  2. Author is an expert or specialist in the discipline. Crudentials are always provided.
  3. Articles are directed to scholars in the same discipline
  4. Reviewed by scholars specializing in this discipline
  5. Articles have extensive bibliographies
  6. Articles have to follow specific publication structure (abstract, keywords, research background and literature review, methodology, research results,  conclusion, references)

 

Contact

Marzenna Ostrowski's picture
Marzenna Ostrowski
Contact:
Collection Management Librarian
215-504-8619

Library Building--ground floor--room #122

Liaison to Health Sciences Department

Evaluating Websites

1. See if there are any pre-evaluated web links for your topic in Opposing Viewpoints.


2. Limit your web search to US government or US college and university websites using Google Advanced Search (limit to domain .gov or .edu).


3. Evaluate websites that you find, using the CRAAPP Test.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is a practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.

The Oxford Dictionary of English (revised edition). Ed. Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson. Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Bucks County Community College.  10 February 2010 

Why talking about plagiarism is so important? You will find more information on the BCCC Tutoring Center website: