Skip to main content

COMM 110 Srinivasan: Home

COMM 110 Professor Srinivasan

Reference Desk

Summer Hours: Mon-Thur 8:00am-8:00pm

Contact: Ph 267-685-4825 Txt: 215-970-7123 Email: debra.carney@bucks.edu                        

Information Literacy

Definition of Information Literacy (From the BCCC Library website / Source: The Association of College and Research Libraries)

Information Literacy is the finding of information in the myriad of sources available to the learner, the learner's evaluation of information as relevant, appropriate, and credible for the task at hand, and the learner's ethical use of the new information

CRAAP Test for Articles

DATABASES

Credo Reference  is an online subscription database containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographies. It is a good source for background information.  

EBSCOhost is a collection of databases covering multiple subjects.  Academic Search Premier and Masterfile are good general databases to find both scholarly and non scholarly articles.

LexisNexis is a full-text database containing news articles and legal and company information. It is a good place to find non scholarly articles.

Opposing Viewpoints is an online subscription database focused on controversial social issues. It is a good place get ideas for topics and for background information such as statistics. It contains primarily non scholarly information with a small number of scholarly / academic journals.

 

 

Types of Information

Information Type

Written By

Must be Reviewed by

Where Available

Academic / Scholarly Articles

Experts in the Field

Other experts / Peer reviewed

 

Academic journals available in library databases

Magazine/ Newspaper articles

Journalists

Editors of Magazine / Newspaper

Library databases

Websites

Anybody

Nobody

Online through a Google search