Skip to main content

COMP 111 Dr. Helen Wilson: Home

COMP 111 Dr. Helen Wilson

Reference Desk

Hours: Mon-Thur 8:00am-9:00pm; Fri 8:00am-3:30pm; Sat 10:00am - 2:00pm   

Contact: Ph 267-685-4825 Txt: 215-970-7123 Email: debra.carney@bucks.edu                        

TYPES OF INFORMATION

Information Type

Written By

Must be Reviewed by

Where Available

Academic / Scholarly Articles

Experts in the Field

Other experts / Peer reviewed

 

Academic journals available in library databases

Magazine/ Newspaper articles

Journalists

Editors of Magazine / Newspaper

Library databases

Websites

Anybody

Nobody

Online through a Google search

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

DATABASES

Credo Reference  is an online subscription database containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographies. It is a good source for background information.  

EBSCOhost is a collection of twenty-six databases covering multiple disciplines.  Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier are good general databases.

JSTOR contains scholarly articles focused on humanities and the social sciences.

Opposing Viewpoints  is an online subscription database focused on controversial social issues. It is also a good source for background information.

 

Finding Reputable Websites

Google Web Search

LIMIT GOOGLE Search by Domain Name

  1. Restrict search to those sites created by government and colleges / universities.
  2. Search Example -> Native Americans Isolation site:.edu

CRAAPP Test

Currency: When was the resource updated last?

Reliability: Is the content primarily opinion? Are there supporting references?

Authority: Who created the resource? Can you contact him / her with questions?

Accuracy: What are the credentials of the author? Are there references for the source and can you verify the references?

Purpose: Why was the resource put on the web? Is there a product being sold? What is the domain extension?

Point of View: Who is the intended audience for the article?