Skip to main content

COMM 105 Kaiser-Goebel: Home

COMM 105 Professor Kaiser-Goebel

Reference Desk

Hours: Mon-Thur 8:00am-9:00pm; Fri & Sat 8:00am-3:30 pm; Sun 10:00-2:30       

Contact: Ph 215-968-8013 Txt: 215-970-7123 Email: debra.carney@bucks.edu                        

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

DATABASES

Credo Reference  is an online subscription database containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographies. 

EBSCOhost is a collection of twenty-six databases covering multiple disciplines.  Academic Search Premier and Masterfile are good general databases to find articles.

 

Annotated Bibliographies

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

A list of your sources that includes a brief summary and evaluation of the source in reference to how it relates to the theme or purpose of your assignment. 

Why write an Annotated Bibliography?

It will give you a better understanding of how your sources relate to the overall goal of your assignment.

How should the Annotated Bibliography be formatted?

The bibliographic information (title, author, date) should be written in MLA format, and the annotation should be in paragraph format. 

For additional resources see the  Purdue Owl's Annotated Bibliography handout.

Finding Reputable Websites

Google Web Search

LIMIT GOOGLE Search by Domain Name

  1. Restrict search to those sites created by government and colleges / universities.
  2. Search Example -> Native Americans Isolation site:.edu

CRAAPP Test

Currency: When was the resource updated last?

Reliability: Is the content primarily opinion? Are there supporting references?

Authority: Who created the resource? Can you contact him / her with questions?

Accuracy: What are the credentials of the author? Are there references for the source and can you verify the references?

Purpose: Why was the resource put on the web? Is there a product being sold? What is the domain extension?

Point of View: Who is the intended audience for the article?