Skip to main content

COMP 111 Dr. Rackin: Home

COMP 111 Dr. Rackin

Reference Desk

Mon-Thur 8:00am-9:00pm; Fri & Sat 8:00am-3:30 pm; Sun 10:00am-2:30pm      

Contact: Ph 215-968-8013 Txt: 215-970-7123 Email: debra.carney@bucks.edu                        

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

DATABASES

EBSCOhost is a collection of twenty-six databases covering multiple disciplines.  Academic Search Elite and MLA International Bibliography are the best databases for literary criticism. 

JSTOR contains scholarly articles focused on humanities and the social sciences.  It is a good source for literary criticism articles.

Literature Criticism Online is comprised of literary criticism articles from Gale's reference books. It contains both short-story and poetry criticism articles.  It is also a good source for author biographies.

Literature Online is a source for literary criticism articles and author biographies.

Salem Literature contains online reference books of literary criticism for selected authors. Resources from this database are listed in the library catalog.

Types of Information

 
Information Type Created by Reviewed by Where Available
Academic / Scholarly Articles Experts in field Other experts / Peer Reviewed

Library Databases

Magazine / Newspaper Articles Journalists Editors of Magazine / Newspaper Library Databases / Web
Websites Anybody Review not Required Web

 

Finding Reputable Websites

Google Web Search

LIMIT GOOGLE Search by Domain Name

  1. Restrict search to those sites created by government and colleges / universities.
  2. Search Example -> Native Americans Isolation site:.edu

CRAAPP Test

Currency: When was the resource updated last?

Reliability: Is the content primarily opinion? Are there supporting references?

Authority: Who created the resource? Can you contact him / her with questions?

Accuracy: What are the credentials of the author? Are there references for the source and can you verify the references?

Purpose: Why was the resource put on the web? Is there a product being sold? What is the domain extension?

Point of View: Who is the intended audience for the article?