Skip to main content

COMP111 Professor Biletz: Home

NEW Catalog Search Box

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   
   
   
   Advanced Search

Databases for Electronic Books

These library databases have electronic books on literary subjects:

Logging on to Library Databases from Home

A Tip for Finding Reliable Websites

Limit yourself to US Government (.gov), College and University (.edu) or organization (.org) websites using Google Advanced Search.

CRAAPP Tests in Word--for downloading

Databases for Language and Literature

Other Library Databases

Depending on the direction of your paper, you may need to consult other databases. The library databases page has a drop down menu that allows you to narrow the list of databases according to subject matter. Open up the drop down menu by clicking on the word "Any" in the box next to where it says "Show Only" at the top of the page. Then select your subject area. 

Margaret's Secret Formula for Journal Article Finding

For your convenience, here it is in black and blue:

The main databases you want to use are EBSCOhost (Academic Search Elite and MLA  Int'l Bibliography), LION, JSTOR, and maybe Salem Literature. I recommend that you start with EBSCO because you can most easily refine your search there. Here's my famous strategy for Literature Criticism Seconday Source finding:

1. Choose Academic Search Elite and MLA Int'l Bibliography from the first list and click on continue,

2. The search screen has three empty boxes. Make them look like this:

Angelou, Maya (Make. Sure. You. Spell. Her. Name. Correctly.)

AND "caged bird" (or other distinctive words from another title. if there are more than one, put them in quotes to keep them together)

AND criticism

3. Ignore the drop-down boxes to the right of the formerly empty boxes. If you leave them alone you will be doing a Googlish keyword search and that is what we want.

4. Ignore most of the stuff beneath the thick horizontal green line. Check the boxes next to Full-text Only and Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals to make sure your results come from the appropriate sources.

5. Click SEARCH and you should get a nice list of stuff. Click on the title for more info about the article including other keywords you could use and a short abstract or summary (this is not the article and can't be used as a source). Click on PDF Full-Text or HTML Full-Text to see and read the actual article.

6. Use this same strategy or a variation of it for the other databases I mentioned. Exceptions:

  • When you search LION (Literature Online Reference Edition), you should click the word 'Criticism' on the upper left of the first page. This will bring you to the correct screen and you do not have to type the actual word 'criticism' as you did in EBSCO. Type your author, last name, first and your distinctive keyword(s) where prompted in the empty boxes.
  • Salem Literature is more like a collection of ebooks with collected secondary sources (literature criticism). Type in only your author's name to see if they are included, and if you get lots of results yell "Eureka!" and type a distinctive keyword in the empty boxes to the left to narrow your search.

Good luck.

Margaret

Boolean operators

Just a quick reminder about Boolean Operators?

Subject Guide

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

More help

Call the Reference Desk:

Newtown: 215-968-8013

Lower Bucks 267-685-4825

Upper Bucks 215-258-7721

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is serious. More information can be found on the Academic Integrity Page from Bucks County Community College. 

Interlibrary Loan (request books or journal articles from other libraries)

When books are not available at BCCC you can use our Intelibrary Loan service (ILL). Complete the form below and wait for our notification when the book arrives.