Skip to main content

EDUC 105 Career Pioneer Biography Project Guide: Home

Information on how to do biographical research in the library catalog, CREDO encyclopedia, and on the web. Tutorials for timetoast and prezi presentation tools and citations are also included.

Steps to Creating your Timeline

  1. Choose your education pioneer. Chat with Professor Tentilucci for guidance.
  2. Research the life of your pioneer. Use the Bucks County Community College Library Catalog at www.bucks.edu/library and try searching the Bucks County Community College Library online encyclopedia collection, CREDO. Instructional videos on both tasks are included in this guide.
  3. Find images or other multimedia to demonstrate your pioneer and their achievements.
  4. Use Prezi or Timetoast to create a timeline highlighting the major moments of your pioneer's life. Use the text and multimedia you found in your timeline.
  5. Create your works cited using the citation guidelines and video tutorial included at the very bottom of this page.

Searching the Bucks County Community College Online Catalog

Find encyclopedia articles using CREDO reference

How to Use Prezi

How to Use Timetoast

Finding media

screen capture of Tool
Figure - The Creative Commons search page showing
all the different websites to search.

Discover: Creative Commons Search

What is it?
Creative Commons is an alternative to copyright that allows creators to give their work away for students to use for education. For free! All these generous artists ask for is a little credit.


Best used for?
Creative Commons is an umbrella for many different services including: Flickr, Google Images, YouTube, SoundCloud. You can get videos, music, sound effects and images through this page without worrying about copyright, lawsuits and un-fun things like that.


Searching Creative Commons
Capture of the flickr search results page
Figure - An example of Flickr search results.

Discover: Flickr

What is it?
Flickr is a open repository of images and photography with many high quality Creative Commons pictures.


Best used for?
Flickr has many high quality photographs for use in mashups, PowerPoints, papers and anywhere else to add visual interest. It may not be the best source for graphics.


Select a video guide

Flickr overview
Fast Flickr overview (for savvy computer users)
Free Music Archive categories
Figure - Free Music Archive music categories.

Discover: Free Music Archive

What is it?
Free Music Archive is a repository of music free for educational uses based in a freeform radio station.


Best used for?
Use this site to find background music for mashups. Good for songs, but no sound effects.


Free Music Archive overview
Google images results
Figure - Sample Google Images results page.

Discover: Google Images

What is it?
Search images from all over the web.


Best used for?
Google Images is more of a mix between graphics and photographic of various qualities. Not as high quality, in general, as Flickr, but with more icons and graphics.


Google images overview
Jamendo category options
Figure - A view Jamendo category search.

Discover: Jamendo

What is it?
Jamendo is a collection of Creative Commons music tracks.


Best used for?
Use Jamendo for background music in a mashup video. Best for full songs; no sound effects.


Jamendo overview (coming soon)
YouTube uplaod screen
Figure - The YouTube upload screen.

Discover: YouTube

What is it?
YouTube is the largest video sharing site.


Best used for?
Best used for clips in mashup videos or to add another viewpoint to any media project


YouTube overview
SoundCloud category search
Figure - SoundCloud's category browse.

Discover: SoundCloud

What is it?
SoundCloud allows artist to upload tracks for easy sharing.


Best used for?
Use SoundCloud to find background music for your videos.


SoundCloud overview

Create a Citation

Unofficial citation format

 

Look at the video below. Four areas were highlighted on a screenshot from Flickr. These 4 pieces of information are necessary to create a citation.

 

Your citation should include, the author/creator of the material, the date the material was created or uploaded, the title of the material, and the URL to retrieve the image.

Use those four pieces of information to create the following: Author (last name, first name). Date. Title of image. Available at: URL of the image

 

So, using the picture below, our citation for this image:

 qthomasbower. March 22, 2009. Red and White Flower - Fractal Mosaic v.2. Available at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/qthomasbower/3376615754/