Skip to main content

Neuroscience: Home

Bucks County Community College's guide to a collection of books, ebooks, and journal articles relevant to the study of neuroscience.

How do you use this guide?

This guide provides you with access to tutorials on how to search our journal collection and databases. Scroll down to the bottom of this page to learn how to evaluate websites. Use these resources to guide you in your research. Get stuck? Remember to ask a librarian! Find out how at: http://www.bucks.edu/academics/learn/library/ask/ or click the librarian tab for contact information for the librarian you met in your information literacy session in the library. 

Libary Catalog Search Tool

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   


   
   
   Advanced Search

Tip: type "neuroscience" in the find box. Change "Everything" to "Books or Online Books." Change "All Fields" to subject. Try the same process but change "neuroscience" in the find box to "neurology"

OR Browse the stacks! At the Newtown campus library, go upstairs and look for the 612.82 section. Start in that section and browse the titles, table of contents and indices. End your browsing around the 617 section to make sure you take a look at neurology resources too. 

Finding Online Neuroscience Journals

Searching Databases for Neuroscience Articles

Databases contain many journals and other resources. Databases are large collections of information. This list includes information on the databases most relevant to your neuroscience studies. The databases are listed in order of relevancy to neuroscience research. The first database contains the most neuroscience related journals. 

To get to the Bucks County Community College library databases, go to www.bucks.edu/library. Click the databases icon that looks like a laptop. Click the link for the database. Log-in with your Bucks username and password if you are trying to access the database from an off campus location. 

Evaluating Web Sites

Evaluating Web sites?
There is a lot of good information to be found online. That said, there is much to consider when using a web source.
Consider the following:

  • What is the the domain (e.g.: .org, .com, .edu, etc.)?
  • Is an author listed? Is there any indication of the author's credentials or institutional affiliation?
  • Is there any indication of the date of the information?
  • Can you corroborate information with a published source?

Still not sure? Then give the web site the CRAAP test:

Currency – Has the site been updated recently?  Do the links still work? Do the graphics still load? When was the article copyrighted?

Relevance – Is this article about the topic you’re researching? Who is the intended audience (college students, K-12, professors)?

Authority – What are the author’s credentials? What is the publisher’s angle? Is contact information provided?

Accuracy – Are sources cited for the claims made? Has the information been reviewed? Can you verify the facts? Are there spelling or other errors?

Purpose – Is the article intended to persuade? Does the author make the intent clear? Does it seem impartial or biased?