This libguide is created to help you get started with your 30 minutes Lifespan Developmental Presentation. Librarians are always here to help you. If you need additional help you may email or chat with the librarian. Chat is available during library hours.
Plagiarism is a practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
The Oxford Dictionary of English (revised edition). Ed. Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson. Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Bucks County Community College. 10 February 2010
Why talking about plagiarism is so important? You will find more information on the BCCC Tutoring Center website:
The library makes a lot of resources available through our website. This includes access to scholarly journals, films, and some books.
Learn all you can about your topic first.
These Library databases have general information about causes, symptoms and treatments of disorders and diseases from important reference books:
Credo Reference
Information from nearly 300 reference sources covering all major subjects. Lots of images too!
PsychiatryOnline (DSM-V)
The American Psychiatric Association's reference book on mental disorders.
You can look for books in the library catalog to find titles (or chapters within books) that deal with your topic.
Start linking keywords together in database searches. Look for general articles and move to scholarly peer-reviewed works.
These Library databases have articles from scientific and other journals that focus on more specific aspects of disorders and diseases, as well as opinion pieces about public health issues :
Opposing Viewpoints
This database presents topics from varying points of view.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases. These are most useful for topics in health and psychology: Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, and HealthSource.
Films on Demand - A collection of digital educational videos on many subjects (for streaming).
PsycARTICLES
Articles from psychology journals.
Chase Footnotes, find more sources. Try a variety of databases. Track down clues wherever they lead (don't just settle for the first couple hits). And always know you can ask a librarian for help.
Just a quick reminder about Boolean Operators?
