LibGuides: Poonam's COMP111 Guides: Prof. Joyce Biletz

Search the BCCC Catalog

BCCC Library Catalog
Search the BCCC Library collection for both print and electronic resources.

Logging on to Library Databases from Home

If you have problem accessing the library databases please go to the link below for additional information. You can contact The HelpDesk for additional help at 215-968-8191.

Accessing databases from home

Interlibrary Loan form for books and journal articles

Use these ILL forms to request books and articles from the Newtown and Upper County campus library or if BCCC does not own the book or article.

ILL form request

MLA Formatting Help

Tutorials

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies-Purdue University OWL

Databases for Literature Journal Articles

Use these databases to find articles on literary topics.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The entry point for all of the EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a collection of multiple databases. You may select multiple databases depending on your topic by checking the box on the left side.

Literature Online
This database deals with literary topics only. Select "Criticism" for literary criticism or "Author" for all articles on that particular author. It has Full-text collection of English and American literature featuring criticism, leading reference titles and biographies.
Literature Criticism Online
The online version of all those volumes of literary criticism in the reference section of the Library. Lots of articles from academic journals as well as reviews.
JSTOR
This database deals with literary topics. Gives you peer reviewed and full text articles. Make sure to select Language and Literature(294 titles) and others from the " Narrow by Discipline" list below.
Films on Demand
A collection of digital educational videos on many subjects (for streaming)

Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic books from the Harold Bloom editions of literary criticism.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Online reference books of literary criticism for selected authors.

Databases for Current Social Issues or cultural icon Articles

These databases are good sources for articles and other information on current topics.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides basic information on the topic. A good starting point.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The entry point for all of the EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a collection of multiple databases. You may select multiple databases depending on your topic by checking the box on the left side.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text database, particularly good for news, legal research, and information on companies and countries.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Lots of information on contemporary social issues from many sources, including journals, magazines, newspapers and websites.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital educational videos on many subjects (for streaming).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book - Online collection of around 5,000 books in the humanities.

Reference Librarian

Poonam Sood

Email Me

Contact:

215-504-8574

Help

Get Additional Help

Ask a Librarian
For additional help please click on this link

Tips for Finding Quality Websites

Limit your web search to US government or US college and university websites using Google Advanced Search (limit to domain .gov or .edu).
Evaluating the information - Applying the CRAAP Test

Evaluating Sources using CRAAPP

CRAAPP for Websites
Use this test to evaluate websites
CRAAPP II Tests for Articles in Word--Download
Use this test to evaluate articles from databases.

The Conversation

The Conversation
Per Prof. Biletz suggestion.

Poonam's COMP111 Guides: Prof. Joyce Biletz

Welcome!