Skip to main content

BTJ MGMT100: Home

Use this guide to help you with your MGMT100 research on a company

Welcome! Use this guide to help you with your MGMT100 research on a company.

Systems Librarian

Brian Johnstone's picture
Brian Johnstone
Contact:
Bucks County Community College
275 Swamp Road
Newtown, PA 18940
L-122
215-504-8554
Website

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Databases

These databases will help you find quality information on your topic.

LexisNexis

Full-text database, particularly good for news, legal research, and information on companies and countries. Use the company search box on the top right of the search screen.

Click here for a tutorial on LexisNexis Academic Business Searching. (The video is dated but the concepts still apply).

Business Source Premier - (EBSCOhost)

Articles from over 1,000 business periodicals. Also includes brief company profiles SWOT analysis.

*DEFINITION of 'SWOT Analysis' A tool that identifies the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of an organization. Specifically, SWOT is a basic, straightforward model that assesses what an organization can and cannot do as well as its potential opportunities and threats. (via www.investopedia.com/terms/s/swot.asp)

Regional Business News - (EBSCOhost)

Articles from more than 80 regional business publications covering all parts of the United States.

Credo Reference

This is a good place to look up specific terminology relating to business and finance. For example the Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms contains terms like Activist Investor, proxy fight, takeover, and much more.

 

Websites

Financials

  • EDGAR    Search for company filings directly on the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) site.
  • Annual Reports.com   Up to date listings of annual reports available online in one convenient location.

Industry Information 

  • NAICS Association - provided information on NAICS and SIC numbers. Note: Lexis-Nexis will provide the appropriate NAICS and SIC numbers for companies searched.
  • DUNS Number - This is a unique identifier number for a business

Ethics and Social Responsibility

  • Ethisphere           A list of the world's most ethical companies.
  • Business & Human Rights Resources Centre "Tracking the positive andnegative impacts of 5,100 companies worldwide."
  • CSR Reports "CSR Reports feature and link to recently published, non-financial Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability reports." Companies featured are CSR members.

Stock Prices

Company Culture 

  • Glassdoor - Find about a company's culture via anonymous employee feedback. Also includes, salaries, positions, and benefits. Job postings are available.
  • YouTube.com - Check out employee videos of workspaces. View how employee dress (formal,casual), demographics and what the physical space looks like.