COMM 110 -- Bennett -- AG: Home

Search the Library Catalog

Need a reminder on boolean operators? Take a look at this video for some reminders on how to use AND, OR, NOT in your search!

Before you being diving into the databases, take some time to do some brainstorming or mind mapping! It's helpful to get some keywords flowing! Try and avoid long stings or full sentences here as well; you'll thank yourself later!

What are they? 
These are various databases that provide published sources.

Why use them?
Credible information from a published source is what you're looking to use for this assignment.

How do I know which one to use?
Take a look at the descriptions for each database. It will give you a good starting point.

• EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier, Master File.
  • Covers all subjects and many types of resources, with both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start.
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  • Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view.
• Nexis Uni
  • Full-text database, particularly good for news, legal research, and information on companies and countries.

For encyclopedias try the following:

• Credo Reference
  • Information from more than 600 reference sources covering all major subjects.

Let's look at an example idea:

• Using Social Media to market to consumers

break it into just the keywords that best describe that idea, and link those words together:

• box 1: social media
• AND box 2: marketing
• AND box 3: teenagers

Place a new idea on a different line and link synonyms together with the word “or”

Need to understand how to find keywords?

Start off simple and use sources to help you gain a better understanding of your topic Then use your textbook, Credo Reference, and Google to see how others describe your topic.

1) Put quotation marks around direct quotes.

Direct quote - Copying word for word from another author's work

2) Gather all the citation information at the time you are researching/writing. Keep copies (print/electronic)

3) Do not copy & paste text directly into your paper unless you reference it immediately. Cite your sources in your rough draft.

4) Start your research sooner rather than later.

5) Note paraphrases

Paraphrase - to change the words and the sentence structure without changing the idea

6) If you are unsure, cite it. Ask your instructor, a librarian, or a tutor.

7) Make sure you're quoting and paraphrasing and do not exceed the Fair Use guidelines.

8) If the information is common knowledge or your own ideas, you do not have to cite it.

Common Knowledge - information known by most people or the information can be found in a variety of places.

9) You can not reuse an assignment from another class or an assignment completed by a friend.

You can get into the library databases from off campus with your Bucks UserID and Password.

If you experience difficulties, contact the HelpDesk at:

Phone: 215-968-8191

Email: helpdesk@bucks.edu

Here are ways to locate YOUR Bucks Librarians:

Bucks Library

Email the reference desk at:  library.reference@bucks.edu