Skip to main content

Biology Research: Home

Overview of how to find recent scholarly journal articles in the biological sciences.

Accessing the Databases from Off-campus Locations

It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information on the Database Access page, and if you still have problems, call our Help Desk at 215-497-8754.

chat loading...

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to assist you in conducting biology literature searches.  Take a look at the quick demos I've created under the Databases tab above.  

For search strategies, check out the Keywords tab.

For evaluation, including a primer on what 'scholarly' or 'peer reviewed' articles are, check out the Evaluation tab.

If you need assistance, feel free to email me, or contact the library through our Ask A Librarian page.


You may want to begin looking for topics in your text book, news sites, or our encyclopedic database CREDO Reference. This will give you terms to begin searching in the databases.

For example, searching "antibiotic-resistance" yielded among other things, the term "ABC Transporters" which can then be searched in the databases.

The main resources you'll likely use include:

Science - we have a direct subscription to this online (that is, you don't have to go through one of the databases to access it).

The following databases will be very useful:

Database

Description

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Covers all subjects and many types of resources, with both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start.

Access: Bucks

 

 

JSTOR

A full-text collection of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.

Access: Bucks

 

 

National Center for Biotechnology Information

Includes PubMed, PubMed Central, and many more resources from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Access: All

ScienceDirect

Searchable full-text collection of science journals.

Access: Bucks

Digital Resources Librarian

Brian Johnstone's picture
Brian Johnstone
Contact:
Bucks County Community College
275 Swamp Road
Newtown, PA 18940
L-122
215-504-8554
Website