LibGuides: COMP111: Prof. Diamond: Research Report

TASK ONE: Brainstorm Primary Sources

"List short stories, poems, and/or plays you might research for the final paper." Use your Norton textbook, and try the resources below...

Browse the Bucks Library Catalog

Quick Catalog Search

Think of an author you like. Type the name into the search box and choose "author" from the dropdown menu. You'll get a list of books in the Library written by that author.

Use the Internet to Find Lists and Descriptions of Authors' Works

Here are some shortcuts for finding reliable information on the Web:

Try ipl2. This is a collection of links to reliable websites evaluated and chosen by librarians. Search for some favorite authors, or try searching on more general terms like "literature," "poetry," or "drama."
Limit yourself to US college and university websites using Google Advanced Search. On the Advanced Search page, type your search terms into the top box and then type .edu into the box labeled "site or domain."

TASK TWO: Journal Article Search (Secondary Sources)

This column will get you started with the four databases you will need to search in order to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles about your primary sources. Here are direct links to the databases, and tutorials are below this box.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Two of the databases you need are in here: Academic Search Elite and MLA International Bibliography. EBSCOhost is a collection of databases, and these two are the best for literary criticism. You'll find links to them in the list of EBSCOhost databases.

JSTOR
It's smaller than EBSCOhost, but great for literary criticism. (And all of the articles are peer-reviewed and full-text!)
Literature Online Reference Edition (LION)
(LION) This database only covers literary topics, and all articles are peer-reviewed. On the main page, choose "criticism" from the links on the left to search for literary criticism.