Skip to main content

ECON111 Principles of Economics: Macro (Bowers): Home

An introduction to the basic principles of economics, with emphasis upon macroeconomic theory and analysis.

Search the BCCC Library Catalog

Quick Catalog Search

Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.

Find:

As a:

Accessing Research Databases from Home

So how can I access the databases if I'm not on campus?

When you select a database from the Databases page, you will be asked for a user name and password. Just enter your information and research away!

A Very Helpful Tutorial

This tutorial is a great way to learn about PLAGIARISM and understand the grey areas of what is and is not plagiarism.

Searching the Databases....

A database is a collection of electronic data used to research your topic(s). It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, journal articles. It also may also include photos, videos, audio, book chapters, encyclopedias, and more.

Academic Search Elite (found under EbscoHost)

Academic Search Elite covers a multitude of academic topics. I call it the supermarket of subjects!

Business Source Elite (found under EbscoHost) includes articles from over 1000 businessjournals.

Regional Business News is a resource to find information on local businesses.

Communication and Mass Media (found under EbscoHost) is another research tool that may have information you need for your project

GreenFILE (found under EbscoHost) will have information on the environment.

ERIC  has an extensive collection on education topics from 1966 to present.

You may also just go into EbscoHost and select these databases in the tool itself.

Plagiarism - How to Recognize it!!

In order to avoid plagiarism, you must give credit when

  • You use another person's ideas, opinions, or theories.
  • You use facts, statistics, graphics, drawings, music, etc., or any other type of information that does not comprise common knowledge.
  • You use quotations from another person's spoken or written word.
  • You paraphrase another person's spoken or written word.

Recommendations

  • Begin the writing process by stating your ideas; then go back to the author's original work.
  • Use quotation marks and credit the source (author) when you copy exact wording.
  • Use your own words (paraphrase) instead of copying directly when possible.
  • Even when you paraphrase another author's writings, you must give credit to that author.
  • If the form of citation and reference are not correct, the attribution to the original author is likely to be incomplete. Therefore, improper use of style can result in plagiarism. Get a style manual and use it.
  • The figure below may help to guide your decisions.

Subject Guide

Joy Dlugosz's picture
Joy Dlugosz
Contact:
Reference/Research Librarian

Bucks County Community College

Phone: 215-258-7721

Need help with MLA-style formatting?

Click on any of the following websites for citation information and examples.

How to Evaluate Websites

It is very important to keep in mind all information found on the internet may not be accurate. With this technology it is possible for people with no expertise in a subject area to post documents on the web as factual. CLICK HERE to see some helpful questions and hints to help you in evaluating web resources.