Hello and Welcome!
For mobile views, read the header for each box. The layout gets condensed into one column!
Search the Library Catalog
Need a reminder on boolean operators? Take a look at this video for some reminders on how to use AND, OR, NOT in your search!
Before you being diving into the databases, take some time to do some brainstorming or mind mapping! It's helpful to get some keywords flowing! Try and avoid long stings or full sentences here as well; you'll thank yourself later!
EBSCOhost: The entry point for all of the EBSCOhost databases. (try using one of the following to help start your research in EBSCO!)
Academic Search Premier: Covers all subjects and many types of resources, with both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start.
MLA International Bibliography: Articles about literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, and related subjects.
Credo Reference: Information from more than 600 reference sources covering all major subjects.
Literature Online (Also Known As LION): Full-text collection of English and American literature featuring criticism, leading reference titles, and biographies.
Infobase ebooks: Electronic books from the Harold Bloom editions of literary criticism.
JSTOR (look for a tutorial on the Tutorial page): A full-text collection of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Literature Criticism Online: Searchable database of articles from Gale's series of literary criticism reference books.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (look for a tutorial): Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view.
Salem Literature: Online reference books of literary criticism for selected authors.
Limit yourself to US Government (.gov), College and University (.edu) or organization (.org) websites using Google Advanced Search.
1) Put quotation marks around direct quotes.
Direct quote - Copying word for word from another author's work
2) Gather all the citation information at the time you are researching/writing. Keep copies (print/electronic)
3) Do not copy & paste text directly into your paper unless you reference it immediately. Cite your sources in your rough draft.
4) Start your paper sooner rather than later.
5) Note paraphrases
Paraphrase - to change the words and the sentence structure without changing the idea
6) If you are unsure, cite it. Ask your instructor, a librarian, or tutor if you are unsure.
7) Make sure you're quoting and paraphrasing do not exceed the Fair Use guidelines.
8) If the information is common knowledge or your own ideas, you do not have to cite it.
Common Knowledge - information known by most people or the information can be found in a variety of places.
9) You can not reuse an assignment from another class or an assignment completed by a friend.
Here are ways to locate YOUR Bucks Librarians:
Email the reference desk at: library.reference@bucks.edu
You can get into the library databases from off campus with your Bucks UserID and Password.
If you experience difficulties, contact the HelpDesk at:
Phone: 215-968-8191
Email: helpdesk@bucks.edu
