|
Benoit, Christophe. February 2, 2017. Écrit sur un scrabble : database. https://flic.kr/p/zfTshW |
What Is A Database? Good question. A database is any collection of information that is searchable. You have a database that you yourself created on your cell phone. It is called your phone book or contact list. There is a “Record” for every person that you have entered in your cell phone book. In that record there are two or more fields of information. The first field contains the person’s name. The second contains the person’s phone number. You can search both fields on you cell phone. Library databases work the same way. For every Magazine Article in our database there is a record. The fields of information in these records contain the “Article Title”, “Author”, “Title of the Magazine”, “Date Published”, “Pages”, “Keyword or Subject Headings”, and “Abstract”. |
Using Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
If unsure of a topic you may want to browse through some of those listed on the Opposing Viewpoints website. Click on one of the "Browse Issues" topics to expand that topic or click on one of the issues to locate information on that issue. You can also try typing your topic in the box labeled “Search”. As you are typing available topics will present themselves underneath the search box. You can search Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at Databases.
Using EBSCOhost to find a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper article.
After accessing EBSCOhost you can choose which databases to search. Academic Search Premier is your default and is a good starting place. It contains magazine articles on a wide variety of topics and was created for college students. You can choose to search more than one EBSCOhost database. When searching EBSCOhost make sure you check the box labeled “Full Text” on the search sceen. You may also want to limit your search by checking the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" if your professor has instructed you to use them. You can search EBSCOhost at Databases.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference replaces the reference books that were once found shelved near the reference desk at the library. If you need a short concise description of a topic Credo Reference might be the database for you. You can use either the Search box at the top of the page or browse the "Research Popular Topics" at the bottom of the page. You may find the mind map on the right hand of the screen helpful in locating more information. The number of words will indicate the length of each entry. You can search Credo Reference at Databases.
Nexis Uni
Access Nexis Uni at Databases.
Please view the following tutorial on locating Newspaper articles in Nexis Uni:
Search the Library Catalog
