Skip to main content

COMP111: Professor Shakely: Home

Use this guide as your safety net as you work through your COMP111 course

NEW Catalog Search Box

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   
   
   
   Advanced Search

How to Create an EBSCOhost Account

Here's a tip that should help you organize your research in EBSCOhost: set up your own account and you will be able to save articles and access them whenever you are logged in. Here's a quick video to show you how to do that: http://screencast.com/t/l3LfhfDTJ0

Accessing the Databases from Off-campus Locations

It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information at this link, and if you still have problems, call our Technology Learning Center (TLC) at 215-497-8754.

A Guide to the Guide

What the Robot Said

Hello students! Welcome to your COMP II library guide. This was designed especially for you by Margaret the librarian. If you watch the tutorials and videos before you start your research, your assignment won't seem as intimidating.

Look at the boxes around this video. To your left is general information on how to use the library's website and catalog to find books. There's also information about how to cite your sources in MLA format. Underneath this box you'll see tutorials and links for the databases where you will find current articles on your topics. There is also information about how to log in from home. You do not have to be on campus to research journal articles!

To your right you'll see some options for getting additional help. That's Margaret in the black and white photo, and her contact information is underneath. She'll be happy to help you in person, by phone, or by email if you get stuck in your research process. Underneath Margaret's profile box is an Instant Message widget. You can IM a librarian to get research help anytime the libraries are open. There are also instructions  on how to text your question to a librarian.

Please take advantage of these resources. We want you to write the best research paper possible for Professor Shakely!

How to Use Opposing Viewpoints

Take a look at this tutorial by Librarian Debbie Carney to learn some great tips for using the Opposing Viewpoints database.

Link Directly to EBSCOhost Here

EBSCOhost is a collection of electronic databases, and Academic Search Elite is one of the databases. Make sure you use Academic Search Elite to find articles for this assignment. You can link directly to EBSCOhost below these words. Then link to Academic Search Elite at the top of the list of EBSCOhost databases. See the box below this one for off-campus login help.

EBSCOhost Tutoral

Please watch this up-to-date video tutorial to learn more about EBSCOhost and score some great tips on using it effectively.

Your Librarian

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.