Skip to main content

COMP114 : Professor Bruck (Technical Writing): Home

This research guide was created for students in COMP114, Technical Writing, to help them explore available and relevant Library resources.

NEW Catalog Search Box

Quick Catalog Search

    Find:
   
   
   
   Advanced Search

Help with APA

Check these guides for help with APA style, required for your Researched Business Proposal assignment.

How to Create an EBSCOhost Account

Here's a tip that should help you organize your research in EBSCOhost: set up your own account and you will be able to save articles and access them whenever you are logged in. Here's a quick video to show you how to do that: http://screencast.com/t/l3LfhfDTJ0

Welcome!

Watch this video for help understanding this research guide. Text for the video is in the box below.

Welcome to Your Research Guide--Text for above video

Hello students and welcome to your COMP114 research guide. I have collected here some library research tools that you will find helpful for this course. To the left you will find a Widget for searching the Library's catalog where you can find books, ebooks, DVDs, Films On Demand, and other resources. You will also see a box containing links to information about citing your sources in APA style. (Your Researched Business Proposal assignment requires this.) At the bottom of the column is a box containing instructions on how to set up your own EBSCOhost account. EBSCOhost, as you will soon find out, is one of the best places to go to find information for your Researched Business Proposal assignment.

In this center column, you will see three tutorials embedded. These represent two of the Library's databases, EBSCOhost and Lexis-Nexis.The latter can be searched two ways. For best results, watch the tutorials before you try to use the databases.

You'll see my contact information in the right column. Feel free to email me or contact me through your Canvas space. You can try my phone, but I am frequently working away from it--wherever I am I do check email and Canvas, though. Just underneath my contact box is the Get Help widget which will connect you to a Bucks librarian any time that the Library is open. Use that for any kind of general questions if I'm not available. We all want to help you do well in your courses!

Good luck!

Margaret

How to Use EBSCOhost

Here is a tutorial that will show you how to search for scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspaper information in the database called EBSCOhost. Please note that EBSCO is actually a collection of databases and you can customize your search strategy according to your topic. There are some general databases (Academic Search Elite and MasterFile Premiere) and some Business databases (Business Source Elite and Regional Business News) that may be especially helpful for your topics in this course. You can search multiple databases in EBSCO simultaneously. Watch the video:

Your Librarian

Lexis-Nexis for Business searching

Lexis-Nexis for General News

Lexis-Nexis Academic is a huge database where you can find current information form newspapers and other periodicals. There are different ways to search Lexis. The tutorial embedded here will demonstrate the general news search. The tutorial in the box below this one will show the Business search. Which you select will depend on your topic.