Skip to Main Content

VAFA -- Riccardi -- AG: Home

Use this research guide for help with your Museum Paper, for Professor Riccardi

Welcome!

Hello and Welcome!

  • Use this LibGuide as a refresher page for your research! If you have any questions use my information or the Ask a Librarian feature located on the right!
  • In the center column, you'll find information regarding starting points, the databases, and boolean operators that were covered in our session.
  • On the left, you'll find a quick search function to the catalog, some formatting help, the interlibrary loan request form as well as the CRAAPP TESTS that were mentioned in our presentation!
  • Lastly, use the tab above marked "Tutorials" to get a refresher on some of the databases that we discussed today!

For mobile views, read the header for each box. The layout gets condensed into one column!

Catalog 5.0 Search Box

Search the Library Catalog

 

Formatting Help

Interlibrary Loan Request

CRAAPP Test

Boolean Operators

Need a reminder on boolean operators? Take a look at this video for some reminders on how to use AND, OR, NOT in your search!

Brainstorming and Mind Mapping

Before you being diving into the databases, take some time to do some brainstorming or mind mapping! It's helpful to get some keywords flowing! Try and avoid long stings or full sentences here as well; you'll thank yourself later!

Library Databases

What are they? 
These are various databases that provide published sources.

Why use them?
Credible information from a published source is what you're looking to use for this assignment.

How do I know which one to use?
Take a look at the descriptions for each database. It will give you a good starting point.

  • EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier.
    • Covers all subjects and many types of resources, with both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start.
  • ARTstor
    • Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. To download images or use mobile sites, students must also register with ARTstor.
  • JSTOR
    • A full-text collection of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
  • Oxford Art Online

    • All aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present.

For encyclopedias try the following:

  • Credo Reference
    • Information from more than 600 reference sources covering all major subjects.

Searching for Reliable Websites

Limit yourself to US Government (.gov), College and University (.edu) or organization (.org) websites using Google Advanced Search.

  • add "site:gov" to a search to find government websites, e.g.: loc.gov.
  • add "site:edu" to a search to find educational websites

Museum Websites

Ask A Librarian

chat loading...

Off Campus Access & Help Desk Assistance

You can get into the library databases from off campus with your Bucks UserID and Password.

If you experience difficulties, contact the HelpDesk at:

Phone: 215-968-8191

Email: helpdesk@bucks.edu

Library Contact Information

Here are ways to locate YOUR Bucks Librarians:

Bucks Library

Email the reference desk at:  library.reference@bucks.edu