LibGuides: Margaret's Media and Society Guide: Library Databases

Accessing the Databases from Off-campus Locations

It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information at this link, and if you still have problems, call our Technology Learning Center (TLC) at 215-497-8754.

Accessing Databases
Read the information here if you are having trouble accessing the library's databases.

APA Formatting Help

How to Create an EBSCOhost Account

Here's a tip that should help you organize your research in EBSCOhost: set up your own account and you will be able to save articles and access them whenever you are logged in. Here's a quick video to show you how to do that: http://screencast.com/t/l3LfhfDTJ0

Library Databases

These Library databases will be useful for most topics. Find high-quality, reliable information from reference books, journal articles, and newspapers. Contact us if you can't find what you need!

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases with quality journal articles. When you enter EBSCOhost you'll get a list of databases to choose from. Start with Communication and Mass Media Complete and Academic Search Elite. Once you are logged in to EBSCO, click in the boxes to the left of their titles to search both simultaneously. If you still need articles try these specialized databases: Newspaper Source (just newspaper articles); Business Source Elite (business topics and product information); CINAHL with Full Text (health and medicine); GreenFILE (environmental topics). If you need help getting started with EBSCOhost there's a link to a tutorial to the right on this page.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Information from nearly 300 reference sources covering all major subjects. Lots of images too! Want help getting started? Check out the video tutorial below.

LexisNexis Academic
This database has thousands of full-text newspaper articles from the US and beyond. Use the default search page or click on the "news" tab. There's a tutorial farther down this page.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Lots of information on contemporary social issues from many sources, including journals, magazines, newspapers and websites. Check out the tutorial below.
eBook Collection
Electronic books on many subjects.
JSTOR
JSTOR focuses on topics in the Humanities. Depending on your topic, you could find some excellent scholarly resources here.

EBSCOhost Tutoral

Please watch this up-to-date video tutorial to learn more about EBSCOhost and score some great tips on using it effectively.

Underneath, find another video on advanced search techniques which also happens to use EBSCOhost.

Using the Credo Reference Database

Credo is a great place to look for additional information, and additional kinds of information.

How to Find Newspaper Articles in LexisNexis Academic

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Your Librarian

Margaret Montet

Email Me

Contact:

215-968-8373

Margaret's Media and Society Guide: Library Databases