LibGuides: COMM110: Professor Queeney: Persuasive Speech--Organization (Speech #2)

START HERE!

(And then follow the 3 steps down the center of this page!)

Search the BCCC Library Catalog

Quick Catalog Search

Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.

Search the Bucks County Public Libraries Catalog

Is a Bucks County Public Library more convenient for you? The Public Libraries' online catalog searches in the same way that the College Library's does. Click here to search the Public Libraries' Catalog.

STEP 1: Find an Organization

Try these websites if you need help finding an organization:

STEP 2: Find Information about the Organization

Don't rely on the organization's website alone! Look for articles from magazines and newspapers written by people who aren't part of the organization for a diversity of views. Search for the organization's name in these databases:

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
When you enter EBSCOhost you'll get a list of databases to choose from. For magazine articles, try Academic Search Elite. For newspaper articles, try Newspaper Source. If you haven't used EBSCOhost before there's a link to a video tutorial on the "Informative Speech" page.

LexisNexis Academic
This database has thousands of full-text newspaper articles from the US and beyond. Use the default search box or click on "Search the News."

STEP 3: Find Information about the Cause

One or more of these databases will have information on the subject that is the basis of your organization's work. This time you're searching for a topic (like single mothers, osteoporosis, or sustainable agriculture), not the name of the organization. Find high-quality, reliable information from reference books, journal articles, and newspapers.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
When you enter EBSCOhost you'll get a list of databases to choose from. Start with Academic Search Elite because it covers all subjects. You can also try these specialized databases: Newspaper Source (just newspaper articles); Business Source Elite (business topics and product information); CINAHL with Full Text (health and medicine); GreenFILE (environmental topics).
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Information from nearly 300 reference sources covering all major subjects.

LexisNexis Academic
This database has thousands of full-text newspaper articles from the US and beyond. Use the default search box or click on "Search the News."
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Lots of information on contemporary social issues from many sources, including journals, magazines, newspapers and websites. Start here if you need ideas for a topic!
eBook Collection
A collection of electronic books on all subjects (used to be called NetLibrary). Choose eBook Collection from the list of EBSCOhost databases.

Database Tutorials

If you need help getting started, there are video tutorials for EBSCOhost, Credo Reference, LexisNexis Academic, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center under the "Database Tutorials" tab.

Logging on to Library Databases from Home

Look here for instructions.

Accessing the Databases from Off-campus Locations

It is not unusual for students to have problems getting access to the library databases. Please don't despair! Read the information at this link, and if you still have problems, call our Technology Learning Center (TLC) at 215-497-8754.

Accessing Databases
Read the information here if you are having trouble accessing the library's databases.

COMM110: Professor Queeney: Persuasive Speech--Organization (Speech #2)