LibGuides: COMM110: Queeney: Informative Speech

Informative Speech Reminders

Your informative speech should:

be about an Object, Process, Concept, or Event.
include at least six sources cited verbally
include a bibliography of your sources

Your sources should be found in one or more of the following databases:

Credo Reference
Ebsco Host
Nexis Uni
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Communication and Mass Media Complete.

Search the BCCC Library Catalog

Quick Catalog Search

Find books, videos, and more in the College Library.

Subject Searching in the Library Catalog

Subject searching may find books on your topic more accurately. This tutorial will help you get started.

MLA 8 Citation Guidelines

Library Databases

These Library databases will be useful for most Informative Speech topics. Find high-quality, reliable information from reference books, journal articles, and newspapers. There are tutorials for some of these under the "Database Tutorials" tab. Contact us if you can't find what you need!

Difficulty with your username and password? Call the ITS HelpDesk at 215-968-8191

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Information from more than 600 reference sources covering all major subjects.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The entry point for all of the EBSCOhost databases.

eBook Collection
A collection of electronic books on all subjects (used to be called NetLibrary). Choose eBook Collection from the list of EBSCOhost databases.
NexisUni
This database has thousands of full-text newspaper articles from the US and beyond. Use the default search page or click on the "news" tab. There's a tutorial on the "Database Tutorials" page.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides information (journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles, statistics and multimedia) on social issues from diverging points of view.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals related to communication and mass media.