Professor Luciano's COMP111: TUTORIALS

In this tutorial, my Librarian colleague, Paul, shows how to use Academic Search Premier, one of EBSCOhost's many databases. Customize and streamline your search by placing check marks in the tiny boxes next to the database name. The beauty of EBSCO is that you can search any of its relevant databases simultaneously! 

TIPS:

• Select "EBSCOhost" from the Library's list of databases to see all of the choices for simultaneous searching. If you select "Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)" you will only see that specific database.
• Academic Search Premier will probably be adequate for most searches. But take a look in the list--if your topic has to do with Business, Medicine, the Environment, Education, or some other topics, there are other databases that you can add in!

Credo Reference is a great tool for looking stuff up. If you would like to do some advance reading on your topic, Credo will remove any confusion you might have about your topic and supply you with keywords and subject terms you may not have thought of. The specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias here can also help you pinpoint or narrow down a topic and look for unfamiliar terms associated with it. Keep Credo in mind as you work on your papers, presentations, and projects. If you use information from Credo in your work, please cite it--Credo will show you how!

Please watch this video guide to learn how to set up a search for literary criticism in EBSCOhost. My example here is Bobbie Ann Mason's "Shiloh," but you may substitute your own author and title when conducting your own research.

TIP:

• The 'brown laptop' icon I show in the video has been replaced with a box labeled "DATABASES."
• Look for the word 'EBSCOhost' all by itself in the list. Don't select anything that has EBSCOhost in parentheses or you will lose the ability to search relevant databases simultaneously.

This database is great for finding information on the many points of view associated with a topic. Besides the usual academic and popular articles, you can also find radio transcriptions, videos, statistics, and even pre-vetted websites!

Nexis Uni is effective for finding current, newsy information, and it is our source for full-text of the New York Times.

The JSTOR database is especially helpful for Literary Criticism research, but it works well also for topics in the Humanities. Watch this video created by my colleague, Bill, to get the scoop on how to use this database effectively.