Hello and welcome to Andrew's LibGuide for Nursing!
For mobile views, read the header for each box. The layout gets condensed into one column!
Search the Library Catalog
Need a reminder on boolean operators? Take a look at this video for some reminders on how to use AND, OR, NOT in your search!
Before you being diving into the databases, take some time to do some brainstorming or mind mapping! It's helpful to get some keywords flowing! Try and avoid long stings or full sentences here as well; you'll thank yourself later!
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost): This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Films on Demand: Health and Medicine video collection: A collection of digital educational videos on many subjects (for streaming) such as diseases, disabilities, health care & treatment, nutrition, human anatomy, and physiology
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost): Articles from biomedical journals, mostly scholarly.
MedlinePlus: A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine from the National Institutes of Health
Merck Index Online: An authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drug, and biologicals.
PsycARTICLES: Peer-reviewed psychology articles from the American Psychological Association.
PsychiatryOnline (DSM-V): DSM-V online, and other psychology resources.
Nursing@Ovid: Full-text database for nursing and allied health journals.
Credo Reference: This resource has information from nearly 600 reference sources covering all major subjects. Start here to develop some keywords for your research!
Salem Reference: Health-related reference eBooks.
Talking glossary of genetic terms: "The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) created the Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms to help everyone understand the terms and concepts used in genetic research. In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images, animation, and links to related terms."
Merck Manuals Homepage: Provides offerings to reflect the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users.
R2 Digital Library: E-Books for various topics including Health and Nursing.
Limit yourself to US Government (.gov), College and University (.edu) or organization (.org) websites using Google Advanced Search.
Here are ways to locate YOUR Bucks Librarians:
Email the reference desk at: library.reference@bucks.edu
You can get into the library databases from off campus with your Bucks UserID and Password.
If you experience difficulties, contact the HelpDesk at:
Phone: 215-968-8191
Email: helpdesk@bucks.edu
